Breakfast · Children · In the Word · Marriage · Recipes

Update and Easter

hot-cross-buns-recipe1

Apricot, Cherry, Cranberry and Cardamom Hot Cross Buns Recipe from The Culinary Life

As if I wasn’t feeling behind the ball already, Easter greets us again this year in March. Somehow that always makes the year seem like it is going by faster for me. That once might have seemed like a good thing, but as a nearly-thirty, mother of two, I just want time to slow down a weensy bit.

I’m not sure I could tell you what I’ve been up to lately, or why it’s been so long since I’ve greeted you here. Life just carries us along sometimes, with this and that.

The last few weeks have been filled some great things like a whole week of my husband being home (thanks to spring break), the zoo, and a backyard campfire complete with hot dogs and smores. It has also been filled with some not so great things like working through the inevitable conflicts that occur in marriage. Although, it could be viewed as a great thing in the end because “It is God’s will that you should be sanctified,” (1 Thes 4:3) and “he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus” (Phil 1:6). In moments of conflict resolution, which may begin with a conversation, but happen most especially in the heart and in actions over time, I recognize the Spirit’s very pointed work of bringing that good work closer to completion. I find myself grateful and humbled any time this happens. I do not take for granted 7 years of marriage in the face of the status quo being a divorce quicker than you can say “happy anniversary.” I know my heart is all too prone to the fights and quarrels James talks about, so every time we come out of a conflict with even a little resulting growth, I am in awe again at the grace of my God. His transforming power at work is what turns ashes to beauty, and I’ll continue to trust that power to continue its purifying work for however many years of marriage we have left.

Well now that I’ve gotten that little heart-to-heart out of the way, I can get back to Easter. I was scrolling through my Easter Pinterest Board and decided that Hot Cross Buns need to happen this year. I have never made them, and I am leaning towards trying the recipe above, but I am also considering this one. What’s your vote? Naturally, I’ll be sure to report back on the results.

This year I am also going to make a little “Resurrection Eggs” story kit. My three-year-old, Nora, is old enough to begin grasping the story and will most certainly find delight in the corresponding trinkets inside each egg. I’ve come across several DIY and buyable kits, but in the end I think I’ll be happiest combining ideas from a few of these. I love the fact that I will only need to work on this once, and then I can save it to use many more years to come.

So far Easter has been a holiday where the reins have been held by Nora’s grandparents (epic egg hunt with Smith clan and usually a meal with my family), so I am looking for ways to work in a few fun traditions of my own. Hot Cross Buns for breakfast and the Easter story with Resurrection Eggs sound like keepers to me. Gotta work on that cutesy matching Easter outfit thing.

What are your Easter traditions?

~

P.S. Here is a really cute song to celebrate the true meaning of Easter. It’s really easy for little ones to grasp as it has a catchy tune and repetitive phrases. I’ve known it since I was a kid and it brings such a smile to my face to see Nora singing along now.

Leave a Reply

