Dinner · Recipes

Damn Delicious One Pot Chili Mac

This is one of my favorite recipes for ground beef! It’s the perfect weeknight meal because it dirties only one pot, and takes less than 30 minutes from start to finish. It also gets points for using basic pantry staples like tins of tomatoes and beans, and packages of pasta.

IMG_7821edit
Photo credit: Damn Delicious

I discovered this recipe by Damn Delicious one day when I was craving Steak N Shake Chili Mac. That stuff is probably terrible for you, so I wanted to find a version that would be just as satisfying but allowed me to rest easy knowing every ingredient in it.

The best part is that this recipe is great regardless of what pasta you use: some nights I use elbow macaroni or ditalini and sometimes I use thick spaghetti or bucatini. The beans are also very interchangeable. I sometimes use pinto beans instead of kidney beans.

I’m gonna send you over to her blog to get the recipe, but keep in mind these tips and a few changes I recommend:

  1. I like beans, so I increase the quantity to 1 cup of each.
  2. I don’t want it to be soupy, so I think about 3 to 3 1/2 cups of chicken stock is plenty.
  3. love cheese, so I don’t really measure, I just grate and grate until I have a thick layer on the surface of the chili mac.
  4. Don’t over cook the pasta. Check the box and cook it for the number of minutes required to reach “al dente.” After that turn off the heat because it will continue to cook as the cheese melts and even after as it sits in the broth.
  5. Parsley isn’t essential here, so don’t sweat it if you don’t have it.
  6. Proper seasoning is crucial. Season in layers. Every time you add something to the pot, season it. Especially when you add the pasta.

 

Leave a Reply

