Breakfast · Recipes

Comforting Maple Oat Breakfast Cookies

image

As a stay-at-home-mom, I have the luxury of taking the mornings slow. Sometimes this means dawdling over a decision about what I want to make for breakfast, and then finally eating the breakfast I decided on a little after 10 a.m. Late breakfasts have never bothered me though, because I love freshly made food, especially in the morning.

Don’t you think breakfast offers so many wonderful options? The diversity of things that count as “breakfast” is awesome. Which brings me to the breakfast cookie. While I am a sweets enthusiast (undeniably and unashamedly), I am also a stickler when it comes to upholding the nutritional value of the breakfast cookie. Breakfast really does make or break your start to the day, so it needs to keep you full and not be pure sugar.

This breakfast cookie gets bonus points for being vegan and gluten-free! I have to give major kudos to Vegan Richa for checking all those boxes and still managing to create a mouthwatering cookie with a crispy exterior and a chewy bite. Head on over to her blog to check out the recipe.

I gave them a different name— one that I felt acknowledged the prominent flavors. Next time I will try reducing the raw sugar to 1/4 cup because 1/3 cup seemed sweet…not too sweet mind you, just sweet enough that I feel like reducing it would bring it a touch closer to breakfast and further from dessert.

 

 

Leave a Reply

